Week #6

This was another week where my actual goal was lower than the general weekly goal of $60, by about $20. By celebrating our anniversary at the ballpark, our budget had to adjust to accommodate it; we probably spent 3x the cost of admission on food. That’s okay though, because budgets are meant for breaking (… in moderation).

By focusing on stuff we have at home, I built the shopping list around things we already had and would require minimal produce (and Fritos…) to purchase. While I don’t have anything against meat, it bumps up the tally by $10, even when buying in bulk, so I abstained from chicken this week. With the strategy, our grand total was $36.66. The menu for the week is:

  • Broccoli Bulgar Stir Fry
  • Frito Pie
  • Pesto Pasta
  • Feta-Kalamata Skillet
  • Flatbread Pizza

Even with the budget crunch, we treated ourselves to two splurges, if you can even call them that; avocados for him and a $2 heirloom tomato for me. The amount for yogurt we get is creeping up because of the pizzas, but I think it’s worth it. As the seasons change, I look forward to soups, stews, and slow cooker meals, but I’m worried about having less produce available and relying on meats, raising the costs. Time will tell, but I’m going to look into vegetarian slow cooker recipes that aren’t “semi-homade”.

Leave a Reply

